en English am አማርኛ ar العربية sw Kiswahili

Addis Ababa, April 20, 2018 (GSN) - The House of Peoples’ Representatives (HPR) approved the appointment of members of the Council of Ministers nominated by Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed.

Accordingly, the House approved the appointment of the following ministers:

  1.  Shiferaw Shigute - Minister of Agriculture and Livestock
  2.  Siraj Fegessa - Minister of Transport
  3. Dr. Hirut Woldemariam- Minister of Labor and Social Affairs
  4. Ambassador Teshome Toga- Minister of Public Enterprises
  5.  Umer Hussen – Director General of Ethiopian Revenues and Customs Authority with the rank of Minister
  6.  Uba Mohammed- Minister of Communication and Information Technology
  7.  Dr. Ambachew Mekonnen- Minister of Industry
  8.  Motuma Mekassa – Minister of Defense
  9.  Fozia Amin – Minister of Culture and Tourism
  10.  Ahmed Shide -Minister of Government Communications Affairs Office
  11.  Jantrar Abay – Minister of Urban Development and Housing
  12. Melese Alemu –Minister of Mines and Energy
  13.  Berhanu Tsegaye – Attorney General
  14. Yalem Tsegaye – Minister of Women and Children
  15. Melaku Alebel – Minister of Trade
  16. Dr. Amir Aman – Minister of Health

Similarly, Muferiat Kamil has been elected Speaker of the House of Peoples’ Representatives (HPR), replacing Abadula Gemeda.


The House also approved the draft bill prepared to merge the Ministry of Farming and Natural Resource and the Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries.

The new name of the merged ministries is “Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock.”

Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed also appointed the following nine officials as heads of federal offices:

  1.  Fetlework Gebre-Egziabher- Chief Coordinator of Democratic System Building Coordination Center with the Rank of Minister
  2. Demitu Hambisa –Head of Prime Minister’s Office and Cabinet Affairs Minister
  3.  Abadula Gemeda – National Security Affairs Advisor to the Prime Minister
  4. Ahmed Abitew – Director General of Policy Study and Research Center with the Rank of Minister
  5. Moges Balcha- Democratic System Building Coordination Center’s Coordinator at the Prime Minister’s office with the Rank of Minister
  6. Aleminew Mekonnen- President of Meles Zenawi Leadership Academy with the Rank of Minister
  7.  Dr. Bekele Bulado- Director General of Metals and Engineering Corporation (METEC)
  8.  Temesgen Tiruneh – Director General of Information Network Security Agency (INSA)
  9.  Yared Zerihun – Commissioner General of Federal Police Commission

The appointment took into consideration educational background, political and leadership skills, it was noted. (Source: ENA)

Connect with us